Name: Michael Gibson
Hometown: Stowe, VT
Country: USA
Age: 27
Sport: Biathlon
Years in the sport: 10

How did you get started in biathlon?
I was interested in biathlon from a really young age, but there aren’t a lot of opportunities to do biathlon in the US.  I grew up ski racing and was always fascinated by the shooting, so when I had the opportunity to work with the former national team coach, I jumped at the opportunity.

Goals for this year?
Olympics are my stretch goal, but a more reasonable goal would be racing World Cups.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
Coaching.  It might not be my full-time job, but whatever I’m doing, coaching the next athletes will be part of it.

Favourite athlete?
Martin Fourcade is incredible.  I have a lot of favourite athletes, in all sorts of sports.  But the fact that Martin has been so dominant, in a sport as unpredictable as biathlon, he’s pretty far up my list.

If you were not an athlete, what would you be doing?
If I was never an athlete, I’d be an engineer.  I have a BS in Mechanical Engineering, and maybe someday I’ll actually use it.

Any hobbies?
Well, I am sort of using my engineering degree.  My hobby (or non-paying job) is making rifle stocks. An old teammate (also an engineer) started a company: Lost Nation R&D.  We make biathlon rifle stocks and have a few other products in the works. http://lostnationrd.com/

Favourite music?
Good music.  There’s good music in every genre, and unfortunately even more bad.

Favourite book?
The Power of One by Bryce Courtenay.  Or anything mindless by Clive Cussler

What does a typical day of training look like?
A typical day starts with a morning run, usually about 6:50.  Then breakfast, followed by a 2.5 hr ski.  Lunch is accompanied by an hour or two of working on Lost Nation R&D products.  The afternoon workout is typically 1.5 hours of running in the summer, or skiing in the winter.  Then dinner.

Anything people be surprised to learn about you?
I played the violin for 13 years

Any pre-competition rituals?
Meditation. Helps get me out of my own way

Best movie and tv series?
Westworld and Games of Thrones

Favourite food while training?
I’m a Hammer Nutrition athlete, but honestly, I typically stick to water while training.  If it’s hot, I’ll have some Endurolytes.  If it’s more than 2.5 hours I’ll have Perpetuem

Do you have a saying or motto you live by?
Today I will do what others won’t so tomorrow I can accomplish what others can’t.

What do you enjoy most about biathlon?
The struggle.  I’ve done a lot of things well in my life. Many things came easily, but biathlon has not been one.  It’s what I’ve been the worst at.  What I’ve tried the hardest for.

Advise that you have for someone starting out in biathlon?
Take dryfire seriously, drill the fundamentals before developing bad habits.

Anyone you would like to thank?
I’d like to thank Concept 2 and SkiErg, The Craftsbury Outdoor Center, my coaches Algis and Pepa, Hammer Nutrition, Rossignol, ONEWAY US, Julbo, Skida, Craft Sportswear US, and Polar Global.

Social Media links:
I hardly update anything other than Instagram: @michaelfgibson
Twitter: @michaelfgibson