Select Page

Name: Joska Le Conté
Hometown: Soesterberg
Country: Netherlands
Age: 31
Sport: Skeleton
Years in the sport: 12

How did you get started in skeleton?
I was a track & field athlete (mainly pole vault). Someone from my club forwarded an invitation for a scouting event for bobsled and skeleton. I had no idea what skeleton was but bobsleigh sounded cool. After I went there and took a run at the push track on a skeleton sled I knew this was the sport for me.

What was it like when you officially retired?
I’ve had my retirement planned, in 2014 I said I would do one more Olympic cycle so I was prepared. I could come work fulltime at the job I already had so I had enough to do. Also I joined a crossfit box so in summer it’s not much different than before, except for spending more time for work. The most difficult part is the winter part but luckily I got the opportunity to start as a coach and still be involved.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
I think not much will change in the next 5 years. I just started coaching and I like it a lot. At this point it is for the IBSF helping the small nations during 12 weeks. Hopefully I can spend more weeks as a coach in the future.

Favourite athlete?
Usain Bolt.

What was your biggest challenge as an athlete and how did you overcome it? 
As an athlete I have been the only one from my nation for a while and some years without any coaching. In the end this made me a better athlete because basically I had to coach myself. I think this also helps me in my coaching job nowadays.

Best advice that you have been given?
To try a certain type of runners on a certain track.

Any hobbies?
Crossfit, surfing, playing boardgames and making music.

Favourite music?
I’m Dutch and we have a lot of good DJ’s. So I like their music. But my favourite song is Kryptonite from 3 doors down.

What was the best part of competing?
Trying to get the best out of yourself. Also there always was a good atmosphere between athletes

If you could train with anyone, dead or alive, who would it be?
Usain Bolt

If you could have competed in another sport what would it be?
Surfing. First of all it is an awesome sport but also it mostly takes place in warm countries. I always said if I ever switch sports it must be a summer sport.

Favourite place you competed?
St. Mortiz

Did/do you have any special warm up routine?
Not very specific, also the routines have changed since I had several physical coaches over the years

What time is your alarm set for?
7 a.m. because of work. But I prefer not to set an alarm at all!

Ice cream or cake?
Cake.

What did you do on your rest days?
Netflix.

Last non food item you bought?
Macbook Pro.

Do you have a lucky number?
No.

Best thing you’ve done in the past 3 months?
Traveled to Cuba.

Scariest thing you’ve ever done?
I didn’t think it was that scary but if I have to chose something I would say skydiving

If you were stranded on a desert island, what one person and thing would you like to have?
My boyfriend and my survival kit

What would be your perfect meal?
Pizza

What performance are you most proud of?
7th place in Konigssee World Cup after I only had 4 runs on the new sled I used.

Hardest sport moment you had to push through?
Missing the Olympics fot the 3rd time. I was qualified by the IOC quota’s but the Dutch NOC never sent me to the games.

What have you learned from skeleton/sport that has helped you in other parts of your life?
Too many things to name here.

If you had to travel either forward in time or backward in time, which would you choose?
Forward. I think there will be a lot of new inventions we can’t imagine right now. Maybe they go on holiday on a different planet?

What is the most unusual, challenging, or creative workout you’ve ever done?
I’ve done a lot of sprinting in parking garages because outside it was too slippery with the snow.

Favourite animal?
Penguin.

What motivated you to keep training?
Seeing my results getting better.

Favourite time of year?
Summer, especially the time where I go on holiday.

Of all the people you have trained with over the years, from whom have you learned the most and why?
Kristan Bromley. When I first met him he was an athlete and at the end of my career he became my coach. He has a lot of knowledge, especially about setting up equipment.

How many hours did you train at a given week?
20

Joska Le Conté

Best memory you have from a time when you were training?
In the beginning of my career we went on a training camp to Sigulda. We were a group of 4 athletes and a coach and we had a lot of fun inside and outside of the track. For example the coach made us slide with our legs taped together.

What accomplishments outside of skeleton are you the most proud of?
Finishing my studies without any delay during my skeleton career

Favourite book?
All books by Dan Brown

What did a typical day of training look like?
Breakfast, track walk, warming-up, sliding, lunch, nap, physical training, video session, dinner, runner preparation

Anything people be surprised to learn about you?
I just bought a house together with me boyfriend which we are totally renovating

What is the funniest thing that happened to you/others while training?
I liked the way the announcer cleared the track in Sigula. Normally the announcer says: track is clear. Here the announcer called your name and said “you’re welcome”

Best tv series?
Big Bang theory

What did/do you enjoy most about skeleton?
The speed/adrenaline but also the people that were around

Advise that you have for someone starting out in skeleton?
Enjoy every slide you do. Don’t fpcis only on the negatives but also look at the good points of your run  – Joska Le Conté

Anyone you would like to thank?
Everyone who had a part in my career.

Find Joska Le Conté on Social Media!
Twitter: @skeleton_joska

If you enjoyed our interview with Joska Le Conté, be sure to check out our interview with Maria Ntanou who is a Cross Country Skier from Greece!