Name: Amalie Håkonsen Ous
Hometown: Lillehammer
Country: Norway
Age: 21
Sport: Cross Country Skiing
Years in the sport: 14

How did you get started in cross country?
My parents have always liked skiing, and when I was about 3 years they took me out skiing. My family have a cabin in the mountains, and every winter we went to the cabin to ski.  I liked to ski from young age, and I also liked to compete. When I was about 6-7 years I started in the local skiing-club. Then I was able to ski with kids on my age and participate in competitions.

Goals for this year?
U23 Championships in Goms, Switzerland and Race some World Cup-races for Norway

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
Hopefully, I am on the Norwegian A-team and fighting for gold medals in World Championships and Olympic Games

Favourite athlete?
Marit Bjørgen and Karsten Warholm

The best advice that you have been given
Always have a goal with your everyday-training. Think about why you are doing the session and how you are going to improve.

If you were not an athlete, what would you be doing?
I would probably study.

Any hobbies?
I like to go Randonee in the spring. I am also generally interested in sport, and I watch and follow many types of sports. Spend time with friends and family is also something I like.

Favourite music?
RnB, Pop and Rap

Favourite book?
I am pilgrim

What does a typical day of training look like?
08:00 Wake up and breakfast
09:00 – 11:00 Training (skiing, roller skiing or running)
11:30 Lunch
12:30-15:00 A short nap, watch tv-shows and hanging out with friends
15:00 Lunch 2
16:00-18:00 Training 2 (skiing, roller skiing, running, strength traning)
18:30 Dinner
19:00 Relaxing, hanging out with friend, watch tv
21:30 Small meal
22:30 Bed

Any pre-competition rituals?
If the competition doesn’t start too early in the morning, I like to go for a short run to wake me up. I don’t like to be too early at the stadium before the start. Usually I arrive 1,5-1 hour before start.  When I get to the race the first thing I do is test skis. I then relax a little and preparing mentally. I start my warm-up 50-45 minutes before start. I like to ski easy for about 20 minutes, and then have some short intervals and sprints to get the body ready. The last 10 minutes before start, I do some easy running while I get ready with the racesuit and skis.

Best movie and tv series?
Homeland and Gossip Girl

Favourite food while training?
Banana and Energy bar

Results you’re most proud of?
The gold from Junior World Championships in 2016

What inspires you?
When my teammates and friends perform. It is also inspiring to train with athletes better than me.

What do you enjoy most about cross country?
The good social environment, the competing and to be able to train in beautiful nature

Advise that you have for someone starting skiing?
Have fun and play with skis. Practice balance and technique

What is the most crucial part of your training?
The most important part of my training is sprint-training. I think it is important to improve my strongest side, my sprinting quality, as well as my weakest sides. Of course, I focus on distance training as well. To improve and developing my strong sides allow me to have an expertise skill, which I think is important.

Anyone you would like to thank?
I would like to thank
-My family:  for always being my biggest and all-time supporter and sponsors
-My personal sponsors: Without their support, it would not be possible for me to be a cross country skier.
-My high school NTG – Norwegian sports school. They made it possible to combine school and cross country skiing.
-My local club: Nes Ski
-My current team: Team Veidekke Oslofjord

Social Media links:
Instagram: @amalieous